How to Prevent the Facebook App From Remembering Your Location History

 

One of the many features in Facebook is the Check-in option wherein you can set the current place or location you are in so that your friends, family, or followers where you are at the moment or the place where you’ve been. Facebook also has the Nearby Friends feature that allows you to let your friends know where your location is at the moment.

This feature is great especially if you are on a very famous or beautiful place and would like to share the moment with other people. If you don’t mind sharing some of your location data, you can leave the location tracking enabled (or set it to Only While Using the App) and just turn off the history saving part.

Here are the steps on how to stop Facebook from saving your location history:

Preventing Facebook From Remembering Your Location History

STEP 1: Open the Facebook app on your iPhone or iPad.

STEP 2: At the bottom-right hand corner of the screen, tap the More icon (three horizontal lines icon).

STEP 3: Scroll down, then tap on Settings.

STEP 4: Tap on Account Settings.

STEP 5: Tap on Location.

STEP 6: Tap the switch next to Location History to its off setting.

Another option you can choose to do is by deleting the location history stored in your Facebook app so that it’ll no longer be available in case of access. Here’s how to do it:

Deleting Your Location History From Facebook

STEP 1: On your iPhone or iPad, open the Facebook app.

STEP 2: At the bottom-right hand corner of the screen, tap the More icon (three horizontal lines icon).

STEP 3: Scroll down, then tap on Settings.

STEP 4: Tap on Activity Log.

STEP 5: Tap on Filter.

STEP 6: Tap on Location History.

STEP 7: Tap on Clear Location History.

STEP 8: Finally, tap Confirm.

NOTE: This will delete all your stored location history information. If you choose to keep location tracking on in any capacity, you may have to perform this purging every once in a while.




Contact Us